Blog Posts

The Elements: Fire

What does Fire symbolize?

Although Fire destroys, it also lays the foundation creation by burning down. This is a process of death and rebirth. Fire is slow to begin, but once it is confident in itself, it sparks and and burns whatever touches it. If, however, it becomes too sure of itself, or too egotistical, it runs out of things to burn and turns to ashes instead.

Each Element (Earth, Water, Air, and Fire), come in threes in the zodiac and are as follows:

Fire– Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Earth– Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Water– Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio

Air– Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Fire needs careful supervision to make sure the sparks do not catch something on fire that we’d like to keep. It is like an energetic, impulsive child with enthusiastic energy! On the other hand, if we do not flame it or nurture it like a passionate, temperamental lover, it begins to fade out.

Once we’ve given it enough air to create flames, it becomes courageous and independent. If it becomes selfish and rude, it will burn even the very thing it desired moments before–becoming stronger, hungrier, without direction, and suddenly having a need to be out of control; making its presence widely known!

Aries the Energetic and Expressive Entrepreneur

Leo the Courageous and Carefree CoolCat

Sagittarius the Fiery, Fighting Philosopher

Someone who is dominated by fire, or has a fire sign as their rising sign/ascendant, will possess these qualities mentioned above: Highly Creative, enthusiastic, energetic, passionate, temperamental, courageous, primal, independent, wise, confident, expressive, courageous, philosophical, adventurous, motivated, self-assured, and entrepreneurial.

On the downside, they can also be impulsive, careless, selfish, impatient, rude, loud, in need of recognition, egotistical, vapid, intolerant, and controlling.

In the tarot deck, the element of fire is represented as the suit of wands.

Masculine and Dominate

Fire becomes imbalanced when it suppresses the feminine counterpart, water. Metaphorically, water contains everything inside of it that fire does not and vice versa. Organically, there are subtle similarities, between them, which are our other two elements. Between the four, however, water and fire are most different. They need each other, and we need both to maintain balance within and around. It is the way of our world and why it exists.

With too much energy, a lack of acknowledgement in emotions, empathy, and compassion, and disrespect toward peace and calmness brings chaos. The universe always seeks to balance itself. Therefore, if you are the fire that burns down the entire village–if you had too much passion, control, anger, etc., you will eventually only burn yourself out. Or, the universe will allow you to burn out to create space for a smaller, more assured flame that offers harmony.

The planets Jupiter, Saturn, and the Sun are represented by the element of fire.

Although Saturn is ruled by Capricorn and is an earth element, Saturn is gas giant and is known as a fire planet. Jupiter rules Sagittarius, while Leo rules the Sun. Aries a fire sign, is represented by Mars, an earth element planet.

Fire is Spirit.

Therefore, both Capricorn and Aries are Fire/Earth signs. Both signs are known for taking the initiative and leading. They’re both shown as archetypes of animals with hornsThe Ram and The Goat.

Fire is creation.

In the astrological houses, they are the numbers of houses 1 and 10, which are actually both 1 after simplification. 1 is the number of creation, independence, leadership, and forging the path forward. These qualities bring us back all the way back to the element of fire.

Fire is a piece of puzzle that is life.

Without fire, we’d have no warmth, no heat, no campfire, no cooked meat or roasted nuts, no weapons forged, no metal molded, no crackling flames, no purification in which we burn things, no sun, no life, and no existence.

Though Fire brings warmth to what’s cold, so does it burn what’s hot into ashes. And this is why we are told to never play with fire.

If Balanced,

Fire becomes extremely powerful with wisdom, which can only be achieved through mistakes. A tamed and steady fire is one that brings warmth and expresses itself by independent motivation instead of primal intolerance.

Fire also corresponds with three of the twelve zodiac houses, which are 1, 5, and 9.

>>House 1– The House of Aries– also known as the ego or how we represent ourselves to the world

>>House 5– The House of Leo– also known as the house of fun, children, and/or being child-like

>>House 9– The House of Sagittarius– also known as the house of philosophy, travel, and high wisdom

From within the labyrinth,

-Lakin <3

Leave a Reply