The Chakras: What are They?

The 7 Chakras of the Body

The 7 chakras of the body are the 7 main energy points in which everything connects and flows throughout one’s body. What I mean is: If you need to exert energy from your hands or feet, energy must flow to/from one of the main energy points first and then transferred from the hands and feet and back into the chakras again. Like a tree, our spinal cord is the source in which our roots, or legs and arms, keep us planted here on the earth; while the leaves, our brains, form new connections, grow, adapt, and change. Without the 7 energy points though, however, none of it would be possible!

Oddly enough, (or is it… ?) the 7 colors of the chakras are the same 7 colors and in the same order as the 7 colors in the rainbow. You can remember this like someone’s name: Roy G. Biv- Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet.

Someone, usually a yogi, or someone who is advanced in yoga, has such a great understanding of their own conscious mind, and a high awareness of their Chakras, that they are often even seen as psychic.

Why would that be?

This takes an incredible amount of life experience, studying, practicing, and really getting to know your body and mind and their inner processes. It means to desire something because it’s necessary and possible, even simple, if you only did not desire it to be more than another. It would mean to understand the way energy moves throughout everything and fully grasping the fact the self- all alone- is only an illusion. It would require the understanding that All is Self.

I Am.

So, What are the 7 Chakras?

Chakra 1: The Base- Muladhara

This Chakra is located at the base of the spine, or right at the tailbone. Muladhara is red and it’s function is responsible for basic needs. Understanding how to water and feed oneself, as well as how to survive financially or for survival. The most primal chakra, it is our foundation in which we live and grow. Being fearful for our lives, or feeling threatened without a true cause for harm, could mean it’s blocked.

Chakra 2: Sacral Chakra- Swadhisthana

Located under the naval and around the genitals, this chakra is responsible for energy flow of our emotions, sexual energy, and creativity. It is the second chakra, from the bottom and up, and is orange. Often used over-abundantly, this chakra can create quite a bit of chaos in our lives if that’s the case. Being careless and/or emotionally vulnerable could mean Swadhisthana is blocked. A healthy second chakra is loving thy neighbor, but no more or less than self.

Chakra 3: Solar Plexus Chakra- Manipura

The third chakra, which is yellow and at the center of our spine. Like the sun and it’s planets, everything seems to revolve around the solar plexus chakra. Manipura always reminded me of the word “manipulate” because this chakra is all about the ego. Ego protects us, but too ego can bring narcissism. A blocked third chakra, however, can mean a lack of confidence or self-doubt. This chakra is the responsible for energy in our guts and all of it’s organs. With a very bad diet, surely there will also be very poorly functioning source of confidence in self. A healthy one is no more and no less than self acceptance.

Chakra 4: Heart Chakra- Anahata

Green, but without envy, the heart chakra forms the bridge between the upper and lower quadrants in which our energy is dispersed. There are three above it and three below it, which is one part spiritual and one part physical. It is the point in which the top and bottom of the number “8” comes together. Peace, love, and contentedness are the results of a healthy Anahata. Jesus Christ was a perfect example of the fourth chakra; and to have a good flow of energy to/from this chakra would be to be “Christlike“.

Chakra 5: The Throat Chakra- Vishuddha

Responsible for speaking our truth, communicating clearly and effectively, and expressing ourselves as individuals, is the job of Vishuddha. The fith chakra is blue and is also related to sound and music– or the understanding of movement and vibration. Someone who has a blocked Throat chakra will often find difficulty is explaining to others their true thoughts and feelings, even if they know they’re being unfair to themselves. A healthy throat chakra feels like a sense of personal power within themselves- from speaking their personal truths.

Chakra 6: The Third-Eye Chakra- Ajna

A mixture of blue and purple, this chakra is located between the eyes and slightly above the eyebrow line. The thirdeye chakra is what gives us insight into information we often feel is beyond us; aka our intuition. It is the eye we possess that we cannot see because we see things without it that don’t require eyes. Anja is what gives us divine wisdom. Improper use of this chakra can mean being too whimsical or being grounded very little. This chakra operates on a level beyond just the surface.

Chakra 7: The Crown Chakra- Sahasrara

The final chakra, located at the top of the head, is violet. The purpose of the crown chakra is to connect our individual body to consciousness– a place in which we’re all connected. To achieve higher consciousness and to have a true understanding of the balance between both love and light and to see the necessity for both to exist in tandem, is having a balanced Sahasrara. The Seventh chakra is very often under-nourished and to have little to no faith, or feeling disconnected from others, is often a sign of this.

From Within the Labyrinth,

With Love,

-Lakin <3

Copyright: Lakin’s Labyrinth- All rights reserved

Art by Julia Watkins 2017

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected and owned by The Lucid Labyrinth.